EFNet Connection Problems

Help with EFnet related issues

Moderators: Website/Forum Admins, EFnet/Help Moderators

Forgotten
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 9:03 am

EFNet Connection Problems

Postby Forgotten » Mon Dec 26, 2005 9:04 am

Hello,

I am using Trillian PRO to connect to EFNET. I get this error:

Code: Select all

[00:51] *** Creating connection "Connection to EFNET"
[00:52] *** -irc.efnet.net- *** Processing connection to irc.ptptech.com
[00:52] *** -irc.efnet.net- *** Looking up your hostname...
[00:52] *** -irc.efnet.net- *** Checking Ident
[00:52] *** -irc.efnet.net- *** Found your hostname
[00:52] *** -irc.efnet.net- *** No Ident response
[00:52] *** -irc.ptptech.com- *** Notice -- You need to install identd to use this server
[00:52] *** Error: Closing Link: 127.0.0.1 (Install identd)
[01:01] *** Reconnecting to IRC as "Forgott3n".
[01:01] *** Will attempt 10 connections with 60 second intervals.
[01:01] *** -irc.efnet.net- *** Processing connection to irc.ptptech.com
[01:01] *** -irc.efnet.net- *** Looking up your hostname...
[01:01] *** -irc.efnet.net- *** Checking Ident
[01:01] *** -irc.efnet.net- *** Found your hostname
[01:01] *** -irc.efnet.net- *** No Ident response
[01:01] *** -irc.ptptech.com- *** Notice -- You need to install identd to use this server
[01:01] *** Error: Closing Link: 127.0.0.1 (Install identd)
Uhh, whats going on?

Thanks.
User avatar
munky
Site Admin
Posts: 826
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 4:54 pm
Location: Phoenix AZ
Contact:

Postby munky » Mon Dec 26, 2005 11:33 am

you need to enable the identd, enable port forwarding on your gateway, or open the port in your firewall, depending on your network setup.

you could also try using a server that doesn't require identd. irc.efnet.net is a round robin dns, try using a specific server listed on http://www.efnet.org/?module=servers
In God we trust,
Everyone else must have an X.509 certificate.
Forgotten
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 9:03 am

Postby Forgotten » Tue Dec 27, 2005 8:11 pm

I've always connected to EFNet fine.. Even on Trillian PRO. But now its doing this.
User avatar
lucy
Posts: 234
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 6:22 pm
Location: graceland
Contact:

Postby lucy » Wed Dec 28, 2005 4:18 am

did you try individual servers in the link that munky posted for you?
there are some servers that don't require ident and the best way to find them is try 1 server at a time and not one of the round robin servers.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests