irc.avalonworks.ca & irc.dks.ca

EFnet IRC Network News

Moderator: Website/News Moderators

Hardy
Site Admin
Posts: 394
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 4:54 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

irc.avalonworks.ca & irc.dks.ca

Postby Hardy » Thu Aug 14, 2003 8:26 pm

Due to power outages in Toronto irc.avalonworks.ca & irc.dks.ca have been a having some problems the last hours. Hopefully things will be back to normal soon.

There has been reported major power outage in New York, Detroit, Toronto and Ottawa so other irc-servers/providers might be affected aswell.
Last edited by Hardy on Fri Aug 15, 2003 8:39 am, edited 1 time in total.
-- Hardy
Administrator: irc.underworld.no
Services Administrator
http://www.efnet.org admin/staff
User avatar
Jon
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 5:33 am
Location: NB.CA

Postby Jon » Fri Aug 15, 2003 5:39 am

And no, Canada is not to blame for this :)
Klimpong
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2003 6:21 pm

Postby Klimpong » Fri Aug 15, 2003 10:34 am

Jon wrote:And no, Canada is not to blame for this :)
haha :)

/me sends AAA-batteries to the North-East ;)
User avatar
slushey
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2003 4:11 pm
Location: Newfoundland, Canada

Postby slushey » Fri Aug 15, 2003 1:25 pm

Jon wrote:And no, Canada is not to blame for this :)
Aparently it was a lightning strike in Northern NY State from what they're reporting on TV.
Humor is the best sense we ALL have in common.

slushey ....just me
nothing more.....nothing less

"In Canada we play Duck, Duck, Moose."
User avatar
munky
Site Admin
Posts: 826
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 4:54 pm
Location: Phoenix AZ
Contact:

Postby munky » Fri Aug 15, 2003 5:27 pm

the canucks are saying it was a lightning strike
i think the us side was saying some other trivial thing.

i think no one knows for certain what exactly it was yet, just speculations. last numbers i heard were 50 million people were effected (30-35 million people's homes without power, i guess the rest are effected by no power at work?). something like 8900 (or was it 8300?) square miles without power.

it's being slated as the largest blackout in US history (next largest was in '65 i believe)
In God we trust,
Everyone else must have an X.509 certificate.
User avatar
feer
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2003 6:44 pm
Location: Canada, St. Catharines

Postby feer » Fri Aug 15, 2003 6:40 pm

It wasn't that bad, 16 hours without electricity gives you time to do other fun things ;)
feer@efnet
tiz
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2003 11:51 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Postby tiz » Fri Aug 15, 2003 8:33 pm

feers hands and ....er.... privates are raw.

-tiz
User avatar
Auriga
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2003 1:29 am
Location: Canada

Postby Auriga » Sun Aug 17, 2003 1:25 am

feer wrote:It wasn't that bad, 16 hours without electricity gives you time to do other fun things ;)
Like what? It was 24 hours without power for me.. and let me tell you it sucked..

may you all experience what its like to have no power.. to be afraid to open your firde so your food dosent spoil..
if you live in a condo.. on a higher floor.. you have no water.. you have to walk up and down all those stairs..

You dont understand how much to depend on power untill you live without it for an extended period of time..
Like riht now the very act me me using my computer probably means some dude somewhere else cant turn on their light tonight..

Even with the power on.. you feel bad for doing frivolous things..

I havent used my dish washer... using paper plates now..
cant do laundry...

It sucks..

All cuz of some transmisson lines in butt fuck okahoma..
Yay!
Efnet Operator..
RIP *.qeast.net I'll miss you! :(
Auriga is qurves slave! (is a Forum moderator)
User avatar
strikelight
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2003 1:13 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Postby strikelight » Sun Aug 17, 2003 4:11 am

Auriga wrote: Like what? It was 24 hours without power for me.. and let me tell you it sucked..
What happened to your brand spanking new UPS backup, weega?
:wink:

Code: Select all

 ____________
|:   _____  :|
|___    |   .|____
|:  |  :|    |   :|
|_______|_________|
[/color]
- silence isn't golden when i'm holding it inside -
Klimpong
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2003 6:21 pm

Postby Klimpong » Sun Aug 17, 2003 11:17 am

User avatar
Auriga
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2003 1:29 am
Location: Canada

Postby Auriga » Sun Aug 17, 2003 9:48 pm

strikelight wrote:
Auriga wrote: Like what? It was 24 hours without power for me.. and let me tell you it sucked..
What happened to your brand spanking new UPS backup, weega?
:wink:
Hrms..
UPS dosent last for 24 hrs. :)

But nice try :P
Efnet Operator..
RIP *.qeast.net I'll miss you! :(
Auriga is qurves slave! (is a Forum moderator)
User avatar
strikelight
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2003 1:13 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Postby strikelight » Mon Aug 18, 2003 1:00 am

Auriga wrote:
strikelight wrote:
Auriga wrote: Like what? It was 24 hours without power for me.. and let me tell you it sucked..
What happened to your brand spanking new UPS backup, weega?
:wink:
Hrms..
UPS dosent last for 24 hrs. :)

But nice try :P
No, it doesn't.. but it should have atleast made you without power for only 23 hours ;)

Code: Select all

 ____________
|:   _____  :|
|___    |   .|____
|:  |  :|    |   :|
|_______|_________|
[/color]
- silence isn't golden when i'm holding it inside -
User avatar
munky
Site Admin
Posts: 826
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 4:54 pm
Location: Phoenix AZ
Contact:

Postby munky » Mon Aug 18, 2003 4:04 pm

strikelight wrote:No, it doesn't.. but it should have atleast made you without power for only 23 hours ;)
usually you buy enough of a ups to run whatever critical systems for 10-15 minutes. just enough time to shut the machines down safely (usually you have some sort of interface that will automatically shut them down, either USB or serial). a UPS is not designed to keep a computer running during an extended power outage. for that they make generators.

many large network hubs (ie - at&t, sprint, etc) will have redundant UPS systems that can run for up to an hour: long enough to get the diesel generators started (which they probably also have redundance there as well). then they can run for as long as they have diesel. this is why phones and internet backbones still work during power outages.
In God we trust,
Everyone else must have an X.509 certificate.
User avatar
strikelight
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2003 1:13 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Postby strikelight » Mon Aug 18, 2003 11:12 pm

munky wrote: usually you buy enough of a ups to run whatever critical systems for 10-15 minutes. just enough time to shut the machines down safely (usually you have some sort of interface that will automatically shut them down, either USB or serial). a UPS is not designed to keep a computer running during an extended power outage. for that they make generators.

many large network hubs (ie - at&t, sprint, etc) will have redundant UPS systems that can run for up to an hour: long enough to get the diesel generators started (which they probably also have redundance there as well). then they can run for as long as they have diesel. this is why phones and internet backbones still work during power outages.
Yes, but Weega bought an expensive nifty difty UPS backup.. but thanks for jumping in our inner banter ;x

Code: Select all

 ____________
|:   _____  :|
|___    |   .|____
|:  |  :|    |   :|
|_______|_________|
[/color]
- silence isn't golden when i'm holding it inside -
User avatar
Auriga
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2003 1:29 am
Location: Canada

Postby Auriga » Mon Aug 18, 2003 11:47 pm

strikelight wrote:
munky wrote: usually you buy enough of a ups to run whatever critical systems for 10-15 minutes. just enough time to shut the machines down safely (usually you have some sort of interface that will automatically shut them down, either USB or serial). a UPS is not designed to keep a computer running during an extended power outage. for that they make generators.

many large network hubs (ie - at&t, sprint, etc) will have redundant UPS systems that can run for up to an hour: long enough to get the diesel generators started (which they probably also have redundance there as well). then they can run for as long as they have diesel. this is why phones and internet backbones still work during power outages.
Yes, but Weega bought an expensive nifty difty UPS backup.. but thanks for jumping in our inner banter ;x
I didnt buy it....
I got it from work... but close :)
I only bought the smart signaling cable for it....

Actually the UPS I have lasts almost an hour with its current load...
Not bad...

To bad i was no place near my house when the massive blackout happened, and it took more then 2 hours to get home...
No turning off my machines gracefully for me...
Thought my UPS does that for me via smart signaling cable..
so....
Its all good regardless...
Efnet Operator..
RIP *.qeast.net I'll miss you! :(
Auriga is qurves slave! (is a Forum moderator)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests