vhosts

General talk about EFnet

Moderators: Website/Forum Admins, EFnet/General Moderators

Matt
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 4:27 am
Contact:

vhosts

Postby Matt » Wed Mar 01, 2006 3:26 am

Is there anyway for me to get a vhost set up? I own a domain and i would kinda like to use it while on efnet.... if so how would i go about doing it? if not then oh well ;-P
User avatar
munky
Site Admin
Posts: 826
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 4:54 pm
Location: Phoenix AZ
Contact:

Postby munky » Wed Mar 01, 2006 12:48 pm

you need some sort of hosting server that can dedicate an ip to your domain to set up reverse dns on.

some shell hosts offer this service at a cost. try searching on http://www.shellsearch.com/ or http://www.shellreview.com
In God we trust,
Everyone else must have an X.509 certificate.
curse
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2006 3:17 am
Location: Concepcion, Chile

Postby curse » Wed Jun 07, 2006 4:35 am

If your ISP allows it, you could reverse your own IP to that domain.
If you're a linux user (windows might work also), you could set up an ipv6 subnet in your computer and reverse one ipv6 to that domain and use an ipv6 server.
(IPv6 providers: http://www.freenet6.net - https://tb.ipv6.btexact.com/ or you could use http://www.google.com and search for one that suits you)

In case you plan to use IPv6 with linux\unix, you'll need:
a) radvd http://www.litech.org/radvd/
b) enable ipv6 in your kernel
c) a lot of patience :lol:
you can always use google.com and look for some information.

There are a lot of things you could do.
If you have money to afford a shell, that'd be the easiest way.

Good luck with that :)
edit: typo!
curse@fakereality.net
http://www.fakereality.net/
"Maybe these times will burn out..."

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 4 guests